# Faculty Senate Steering Meeting Minutes October 2, 2014 3 – 5 p.m. Tigert 226

Attendees: Barbara Wingo, Pradeep Kumar, Jorg Peters, Paul Davenport, Joe Glover, Marc Heft, Jeannine Brady, Sue Alvers, Margaret Temple-Smith, Eric Segal, Renee Goodrich, Susan Schaffer, Dean Anna McDaniel, Bernie Machen, and Frank Bova.

The meeting was called to order at 3:05 p.m. by Pradeep Kumar. Introductions were made and the September minutes were approved.

# **Chair's Report**

### Pradeep Kumar, Chair

- Dr. Kumar gave a summary on what will be discussed this meeting.
- The Special Election for the "Blue Team" is in progress with the ballot closing on October 8. The top six votes will be sent to the President and two names will be chosen out of that group.
- We need six more names for the UF Online advisory board and one name for Student Petitions Committee.
- The new class of distinguished professors was recently announced. We want to continue with the Distinguished Professor series with the first starting end of October or November.
- Dr. Kumar asked Dean McDaniel to present about the department reorganization for College of Nursing. No changes in curriculum nor in the faculty.
  - Steering Committee approved adding this item to the October Faculty Senate agenda.

## **President's Report**

#### Bernie Machen, President

President Machen stated that he has encountered questions around the campus such as Who
will be the new President at UF and who will win the election for the Florida Governor. He
didn't know the answers.

#### **Provost's Report**

#### Joe Glover, Provost

- While the meeting was going on, Provost Glover announced that notification went out on post doc salary increase. Post docs now are paid the same as graduate students.
- There will be a two day conference in December (December 11 & 12 in University Auditorium).
- CALS/IFAS Dean Elaine Turner is chairing the CLAS Dean search. Three faculty on the search committee are: Karen Bjorndal, Biology; Bonnie Efros and Les Thiele.
- Two day conference on the future of graduate education will be December 11 and 12, 2014. Along with speakers are Hunter Rawlings, Current President of AAU, Dr. Rodney Erickson, former President of Penn State and Debra Stewart, President, Council on Graduate Schools.

#### IT Subcommittee Frank Bova, Chair

 Frank Bova gave some background on the IT Subcommittee that was created 18 months ago by then Faculty Senate Chair Cheri Brodeur. The charge of the subcommittee is to interface with the CIO. Meetings are held monthly and have discussed classroom and internet issues. Currently work is on the Strategic Plan.

Harn Museum of Art as a Resource

**Eric Segal,** Education Curator of Academic Programs

• Mr. Segal gave a short report on what he plans to present at the October Faculty Senate meeting. He wants to inform faculty about exploring collaboration and engaging classes.

# **Council Reports**

- Research and Scholarship Council Jorg Peters, Chair
  - o Dr. Peters was elected chair of the council.
  - o Reviewed issues from last year. Meets again next week.
- Welfare Council Margaret Temple-Smith, Member
  - o Council hasn't met this month. Will meet again next week.

Agenda for the October 16 Faculty Senate meeting was approved.

Meeting adjourned at 3:38 p.m.